Dozens Of Pro-Life Candidates Won Their Races This Primary Election. Here Are The Details:

(Oregon Right to Life) — Throughout Oregon, pro-life candidates who earned Oregon Right to Life PAC’s endorsement scored major victories in the 2024 primary election, including in numerous contested races.

In one of the most significant wins of the night, pro-life and ORTL PAC-endorsed candidate Darin Harbick defeated incumbent Representative Charlie Conrad (R-Dexter) in House District 12, taking home more than 80% of the vote. 

Harbick’s landslide victory comes after ORTL PAC announced a campaign in June of 2023 to defeat Conrad after he supported HB 2002, which would have expanded Oregon’s already radical abortion laws to allow young girls to obtain abortions without parental knowledge or consent. 

Harbick was among six ORTL PAC-endorsed state representative candidates to seize pro-life victories in contested races last night. ORTL PAC-endorsed candidates also secured wins in contested Senate races, in which the sitting pro-life senators had been barred from running for re-election after their participation in a historic walkout last year protesting radical pro-abortion legislation. 

State officials will continue to accept ballots for ten days after the election, and election results won’t be finalized for two to three weeks. Numbers from Tuesday night already showed decisive wins for these pro-life candidates. 

In total, ORTL PAC supported 79 candidates. 67 ORTL PAC-endorsed candidates will move forward thanks to strong showings in the May 21 primary.

In the 35 contested races, 27 strong pro-life candidates will move forward. Three candidates won their races outright. 

See some of the highlights of Tuesday’s wins below:

State Representative Races:

  • HD 12: Darin Harbick won his race for state representative with over 82% of the vote.
  • HD 31: Darcey Edwards won her race for state representative with more than 81% of the vote.
  • HD 32: Rep. Cyrus Javadi (R-Tillamook) won his re-election bid in the contested race with nearly 72% of the vote.
  • HD 48: John Masterman won his race for state representative with almost 70% of the vote.
  • HD 57: Rep. Greg Smith (R-Heppner) won his re-election bid with more than 75% of the vote.
  • HD 59: Rep. Vikki Breese-Iverson (R-Prineville) won her re-election bid, closing in on 89% of the vote.

State Senate Races:

  • SD 1: Sen. David Brock Smith (R-Port Orford) won his re-election bid in the contested race with nearly 57% of the vote.
  • SD 2: Noah Robinson won his Senate race with over 61% of the vote. He will replace his father, Sen. Art Robinson (R-Cave Junction), who was barred from running for re-election due to his participation in the 2023 walkout protesting pro-abortion legislation.
  • SD 28: Diane Linthicum, who won her Senate race with 59% of the vote. She will replace her husband and Republican Secretary of State nominee Sen. Dennis Linthicum (R-Klamath Falls), who was prohibited from running for re-election due to his participation in the 2023 walkout.
  • SD 29: Todd Nash won his Senate race with 53% of the vote.
  • SD 30: Mike McLane won his Senate race with more than 67% of the vote.

Oregon Secretary of State:

  • Outgoing State Senator Dennis Linthicum (R-Klamath Falls) won the Republican primary in the contest for Oregon Secretary of State. Linthicum will compete for the role in November against Oregon Treasurer Tobias Read, who won the Democratic primary.

Updated 5/30/24


get involved

Sign Up and Stay Informed