Mixed Results for Pro-Lifers in Competitive Election Cycle

Pro-life candidates faced one of the most competitive elections in decades. Oregon Right to Life PAC endorsed or supported 74 pro-life candidates in the general election. Of these races, some in extremely tough districts, 38 walked away with wins.

Redistricting created both challenges and opportunities throughout the state with the Sixth, Fourth and Fifth Congressional Districts proving to be the most competitive. Alek Skarlatos (R-Roseburg) led in early reports but fell behind as additional votes were counted. In a tight race, Mike Erickson (R-Lake Oswego) lost to pro-abortion Andrea Salinas (D-Lake Oswego). Former mayor Lori Chavez-DeRemer (R-Happy Valley) faced Jamie McLeod-Skinner (D-Terrebonne), who defeated longtime incumbent Congressman Kurt Schrader in the primary. Chavez-DeRemer secured the win and will serve as a pro-life voice for the Fifth Congressional District.

The Oregon gubernatorial race garnered national attention and support for its novelty. The three-way contest included former speaker of the House Tina Kotek (D-Portland), former House Republican leader Christine Drazan (R-Canby), and former state senator Betsy Johnson (D-Scappoose). Johnson ran as an unaffiliated candidate and enjoyed early enthusiasm with dissatisfied Democratic voters. Unfortunately, Johnson’s support collapsed in the end. Drazan was close but fell short, resulting in another pro-abortion governor.

Pro-life incumbent Kim Thatcher (R-Keizer) will serve another term in the state Senate. Former pro-life representatives Raquel Moore-Green (R-Salem), Daniel Bonham (R-The Dalles), Cedric Hayden (R-Roseburg) and Suzanne Weber (R-Tillamook) all gave up their seats in the House to run for the Senate. Unfortunately, Raquel Moore-Green did not receive enough votes to move forward. 

After many tight races, some new faces will enter the state House of Representatives, including two strong, pro-life women: Tracy Cramer (R-Woodburn) and Lucetta Elmer (R-McMinnville). They will join several pro-life incumbents who won their races by wide margins.

Pro-life candidates for county commissioner came up with wins in the Lane, Deschutes and Yamhill elections. Ryan Ceniga (NP-Junction City), Patti Adair (R-Sisters), Tony DeBone (R-LaPine) and Kit Johnston (NP-Dayton) have joined the ranks of Colm Willis (R-Stayton) and Kevin Cameron (R-Salem) as pro-life county commissioners.

38 pro-life candidates endorsed by ORTL PAC walked away with wins


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

get involved

Sign Up and Stay Informed